E60 Discussion Anything and everything to do with the E60 5 Series. All are welcome!

Giving exact torque to the bolts (how important?)

Search this Thread

Old 11-22-2010, 04:26 PM
Members

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
My Ride: 2006 525i / Premium / Winter / Comfort / Navigation / Ipod / Satellite Radio / HUD

I'm a beginner DIYer that decided to do maintenance stuff myself. Could not find a discussion on the following topic so I'm posting this. If you know of a previous discussion, please paste a link. Thanks to all in advance for replies.

1) How critical is it to give an exact specified torque to the caliper bolts (the 2 bolts that need to be taken out to replace the front brake pads) as well as the wheel bolts?

2) what tools do you need to give caliper bolts exact torque? Is there a tool that work for both caliper bolts and wheel bolts?
Old 11-22-2010, 04:29 PM
Former Vendor

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
My Ride: 14 550i

Yes you need a torque wrench. Most likely the ones for the wheel bolts won't work with caliper because of the range in torque available. I have the following two:

For the smaller bolts
http://www.sears.com/shc/s/p_10153_1...7&blockType=G7

For wheels, hubs, etc.
http://www.sears.com/shc/s/p_10153_1...3&blockType=G3

It's always recommended you set the proper torque if possible.
Old 11-22-2010, 04:31 PM
Contributors

My Ride: 2010 535i M Sport 6MT
Model Year: 2010

I use a torque wrench like this one:
Craftsman Microtork Torque Wrench, 20-150 ft. lbs., 1/2 in. Drive

Add a set of 1/2 inch sockets and one can work on wheel bolts, caliper bolts and other large bolts.
Old 11-22-2010, 04:34 PM
Former Vendor

My Ride: 14 550i

only problem i've found is in tight spots, i can't use such a big torque wrench it just won't fit.

Originally Posted by vkhong
I use a torque wrench like this one:
Craftsman Microtork Torque Wrench, 20-150 ft. lbs., 1/2 in. Drive