E60 Discussion Anything and everything to do with the E60 5 Series. All are welcome!

Driving Lights/ DRL's/Pretty dumb question

Search this Thread

Old 03-08-2013, 01:17 PM
New Members

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
My Ride: 528 XI /2008/E60/LCI with PP, Xenon adaptive,CWP,VC,Nav,PlatGray
Default Driving Lights/ DRL's/Pretty dumb question

Friends... My apologies for such a dumb question, but I don't know how to figure out otherwise. I'm brand new to BMW.

My car is a 528XI/E60/2008/LCI.

It has xeon HID adaptive headlights.

(I just succesfully replaced a burnt out headlight with everyones help from here... and alot of wiggling to get the headlights modules off the car) Thank you.

Now the real dumb: What are my "daytime running lights " DRL's supposed to be?

In each module, I have two lenses/headlights...both with angel eye halo's circling them.The outside lense/headlight is my headlight (both normal and brights and which I just replaced with D1S bulbs).

The inside lens/headlight never lights up on either side (I think it's supposed to be my DRL.) I get no warning light/message. I have tried my IDrive and set my DRL's on/off with all combinations of the switch, and those lenses never light. The AE's on both lenses do light and unlite as I change my IDrive DRL setting on/off.

Is that interior lens supposed to light and be my DRL? Could both of the bulbs be burned out and I don't get any warning light?

The light module appears to have two access holes to that lens. The big access hole that is behind the module seems to control the AE lite. There is a smaller access hole on top of the module... is that for a bulb for the DRL?

Thanks for anyone who understands this...

Peter
Old 03-09-2013, 05:08 AM
Members

My Ride: 2010 BMW 535i M-Sport Package M Double Spoke 135 Wheels Shadowline Trim Xenon Adaptive Headlights HID LED AE Anthracite Headliner