E60 Discussion Anything and everything to do with the E60 5 Series. All are welcome!

Car jerks when put in reverse

Search this Thread

Old 11-26-2010, 06:22 PM
New Members

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
My Ride: '08 550i - Carbon Black/Black Dakota Leather, Sport Package, Cold Weather Package, Logic7, Navigation, Sirius Radio, Steptronic, iPod/USB Adapter. '09 C350 - White on Black, P2, Pano, MM Package,18' AMG rims. '07 ML350 - Black on Black, Nav, Sirius Radio, B/U camera, 19' rims.

Hi guys! Newbie here... I recently purchased an '08 550i and I noticed that when I put the car in reverse, it jerks bigtime (like it wants to take off in reverse). Also, when I am approaching a stop before the car actually stops, it seems like it shifts to 1st gear and you can actually feel it shift. Is there something wrong with the tranny or is this normal to feel the car jerk because it's a V8? I wanted to ask you guys first before I call my SA. Hope this topic has not been discussed as I dont know how to do a search on this forum. TIA
Old 11-26-2010, 06:25 PM
Super Moderator

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
My Ride: 2011.5 Alpine White E90 M3 | Black Novillo Leather | Carbon Fiber Leather Trim | ZCP | ZP2 | M-DCT | Navigation | Moonroof | 6FL Mods: TMS 12.5mm spacers all around l Hawk HPS Brake Pads l OEM M3 Edition Grills l Paint Matched Side Gills l Key Hole D

try a transmission reset...

https://5series.net/forums/topic/400...moother-shift/
Old 11-26-2010, 07:36 PM
New Members

My Ride: '08 550i - Carbon Black/Black Dakota Leather, Sport Package, Cold Weather Package, Logic7, Navigation, Sirius Radio, Steptronic, iPod/USB Adapter. '09 C350 - White on Black, P2, Pano, MM Package,18' AMG rims. '07 ML350 - Black on Black, Nav, Sirius Radio, B/U camera, 19' rims.

Thanks! I'm going to try it tom.
Old 11-27-2010, 08:59 AM
Members

My Ride: 2008 550i Space Gray