E60 Discussion Anything and everything to do with the E60 5 Series. All are welcome!

BMW fitting a new naviagtion module too the car

Search this Thread

Old 10-01-2009, 03:08 PM
Members

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Where do I start, i am not very technically minded.

My E61 525d m sport (UK) developed a problem with the navigation. It was all working fine and then refused to show street names. It was still working as a Nav just not showing street names when zoomed in. It would show town names though !!! In addition the telephone address book wouldn't upload from the phone, but phone would still blue tooth to the car and work. It seemed to be a corruption of a syntax file in the software

I took the car to BMW as I believed that a software upgrade may do 2 things,

1. Once the car had been 're loaded' with the latest software it would correct the minor problem of not showing street names

2. I would obtain 'perspective' view on the Navigation.

So down to the local dealership I go, quoted ?150 inc VAT for software upgrade, drop car of Monday AM collect car Tuesday and use there courtesy car in the meantime.

I get a call Tuesday Morning, all the software has been wiped from your car, in the process of loading new software and the CCL, CC-something has refused to accept new software. As a result of this the car cannot be re programmed as the software is loaded on module by module an it is crashing at this point, no new software and old software wiped. They said they had spoken to Head office who had remotely accessed the car and stated that the unit is un-serviceable. (now the non technical bit, when I went to get something out of the car, the screen unit from the dash was laying on the front seat so assume that it is that control unit that is US)

On speaking to the guy from service he states that whilst the car is out of warranty and done 63,000 miles it should not of failed and he has asked BMW for 100% parts an 100% labour.