E60 Discussion Anything and everything to do with the E60 5 Series. All are welcome!

Auto headlight

Search this Thread

Old 04-15-2010, 07:47 AM
Senior Members

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hi all

I am a newbie to BMW from HK. Just got the first BMW 2 months. My baby is a 2005 E60 525i. Although second hand but I like her much.

Well, back to my question: When I turned the headlight switch to the "auto" mode, I found that the headlight will NOT turn on and off automatically. It remains switch on even when the outside has beautiful sunshine, no cloud, not cover by any tall building or trees. This is not what I expected; I expect the headlight should turn on automatically when the car entered into some dim/dark area like indoor carpark, driving at night. I also expect it will turn off automatically when I am driving it in daytime, outdoor, in a highway...etc. I asked the garage(not BMW) and the technician said that many E60s' headlight are performing like this and there is no way to fix it.

Is there any friends who can share their experiences and tell me how to fix it?

Many thanks.
Old 04-18-2010, 07:48 AM
Senior Members

Anyone has feedback?

Originally Posted by newbie2
Hi all

I am a newbie to BMW from HK. Just got the first BMW 2 months. My baby is a 2005 E60 525i. Although second hand but I like her much.