E60 Discussion Anything and everything to do with the E60 5 Series. All are welcome!

530D Engine hesitation

Search this Thread

Old 02-23-2009, 01:05 AM
Members

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hi all.
I purchased a 2005 530D in October last year, its an Ex BMW fleet car with high milage (116K miles) but it drives excellent apart from a bad engine hesitation after changing gear (its a manual )

I have a lot of experience with CR diesel engines (I work for an FIE supplier, not a German one (hint, hint))

So my first thought was an air problem, I removed the EGR vacum hose and the car drove great in all conditions, only problem was the CEL and slight increase in emissions
Drove it like this for a few months with no problems, however being a diesel engineer I wanted to solve the problem rather than hide it.

So last week I decided to look into the air system, I removed the inlet manifold to get at the EGR valve and the EGR controller valve, the EGR valve was horrid as expected, I cleaned it out and tested its operation using a vacum pump and it moved smoothly, checked the controller valves filter (clean) tested its operation on a test vehicle at work where I can record all airflow data and it worked as expected.
Put it all back together and everthing seemed fine at first but after a quick stop to get fuel the hesitation was back.
It seems to be temperature related, the fuel stop allowing temps. to increase in the engine bay and I assume activate the EGR system when I restart?

My next thing to try is a new AMF sensor but before I do I wondered if anyone else had had a similar problem?

Thanks
Jason
Old 02-23-2009, 01:45 AM
Members

Originally Posted by jasonprice07' post='799267' date='Feb 23 2009, 10:05 AM
Hi all.
I purchased a 2005 530D in October last year, its an Ex BMW fleet car with high milage (116K miles) but it drives excellent apart from a bad engine hesitation after changing gear (its a manual )