E60 Discussion Anything and everything to do with the E60 5 Series. All are welcome!
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

528 vs 535 biturbo

Search this Thread

Old 05-11-2007, 09:00 AM
Members

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
My Ride: 2008 528i Titanium Silver built 03/11/2007, delivered 04/25/2007,

Hey Guys:

I'm not an expert at this at all so I'm asking for some explanations.
The BMWUSA website has the gas mileage of the 535 at just 1mpg worse than the 528.
That's 1mpg less for 70 more horsepower! I never realize turbos are so efficient at producing hps without increasing gas use. (More I think about it more I should have dished out a little more $ for the 535) I don't suppose a quad turbo can make 370hp for a less mile than the 535? Is twin turbo the most efficient system there is in terms of turbos achieving an ideal compression for the most efficient combustion?

Also, what would be the gas mileage of a naturally aspirated engine that produces 300 be versus the turbo of the 535?
Also, I noticed that gas mileage dropps quite a bit from the 535 to the 550, why does this extra 60hp cost so much more than the +70 gain going from 528 to 535?
Finally, if turbos increase power so efficiently, as it appears to be doing for our 5 series, why isin't it used more universally if for nothing but for improving gas mileage over naturally aspirated engines producing similar power? Cost? turbo lag?
Old 05-11-2007, 09:25 AM
Members

Originally Posted by dohboydds' post='423350' date='May 11 2007, 07:00 PM
Hey Guys:

I'm not an expert at this at all so I'm asking for some explanations.
The BMWUSA website has the gas mileage of the 535 at just 1mpg worse than the 528.