E60 Discussion Anything and everything to do with the E60 5 Series. All are welcome!
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

525 E60-Post Starter Replacement issues- doesnt shift, transmission failure and more

Search this Thread

Old 03-28-2017, 09:09 AM
New Members

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
My Ride: BMW 525i 2007
Default 525 E60-Post Starter Replacement issues- doesnt shift, transmission failure and more

Hi,
I already posted it on different forum but nobody has replied back. Hope you guys can help.
I would like to apologize if anybody has already posted the similar problem. I am new to DIY and, thanks to youtube, I was able to replace brake pads and oil filter housing and coolant gaskets myself. The starter has been replaced by friend.

My car BMW 525i 2007 – 140,000 miles.

One day at the parking lot, my car just wouldn’t start. So my friend checked the battery and decided to go after the starter which he was right. He removed all the filters, sway bar and other parts in order to pull the starter. That was not easy at all as many probably know. He took the starter to the shop, tested and it was bad. A few weeks later, after I got a new starter, he replaced it.

Things didn’t go as we expected . After, he put everything back, one connector/adapter was left unplugged. He could not find where was it located at. Eventually, we realized it was a crankshaft sensor connector. Upload is a picture of connector (it has three pins with a green thing), let me know if I am wrong.

So anyway, when we tried to start the car, it went through a number of repetitive clicking noises (can’t explain the noise very well, but I uploaded a sound I recorded, you can hear what it does when I try to start the car ) before it started. I tried a few times later, same problem. Could the unplugged connector be the cause? Or maybe the air or solenoid? At this point I don’t know what that is. ..