E60 Discussion Anything and everything to do with the E60 5 Series. All are welcome!

2008 550i "break-in" period - Myth or Reality

Search this Thread

Old 07-25-2007, 06:37 AM
Members

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
My Ride: Close to ordering 2008 550i Sport Packg w/ sport auto tran. Previous owner of 2000 328i and 2003 E39 M5

Let me first say that I read this forum, along with bimmerfest.com and m5board.com, multiple times per day - everyday. The BMW brethren who frequent these forums are some of most knowledgable and friendly people on any forum I have visited. Its a pleasure to be a part of this community.

I'm anxiously awaiting the delivery of my '08 550i. Its loaded enough for me and I catered it to suit my wants and needs, as well as, considering re-sale value in 3-5 years or more.

The purpose of this thread is to gather opinions on 2 matters:

1. Lease Vs. Buy - I am a small business owner so leasing sounds like a good idea but I would like to eliminate a car payment at some point. Also, I am shoveling out about 12K to get out of my existing lease just to grab the 550i. Together, with my 12K outlay and facing a downpayment on a finance, im looking at about 22-25K out of pocket. Even with this amount out of pocket, my monthly will most likely be higher on a finance for 60 months based on a negotiated sale price of about 66.5K (not inclusive of taxes, tag, license, etc).

I was thinking of leasing because I could take the downpayment that I would have spent and also the extra monthly savings because of the lower lease payment and investing it, earning a return, etc......instead of losing it on a depreciating asset. Has anyone else had a similar dilemma?

Also, weighing my decision in the thought of a new F10 M5 in 2011 or even the new F10 5 series equivalent of the 550i.