E60 Discussion Anything and everything to do with the E60 5 Series. All are welcome!

2006 530xi: put a downpayment down for one

Search this Thread

Old 02-27-2005, 04:57 AM
Members

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
My Ride: 2010 Lexus HS 250h...looking to get a 2011 535xi
Cool

Well, hopefully within about 4 months, I'll be more than a troller for information about, and actually be an owner of a 5-series.

Here's the scoop. I put a $1000 down on what I am guessing is a pre-preorder for a 2006 530xi. I'm pretty new to this pre-order process, so I'd appreciate your translations from dealerspeak to reality for a couple of vague answers the dealer gave me in response to my questions:

Q: How much will the car cost?
A: We havent received the exact pricing yet, but the prices are expected to rise minimally from 2005 to 2006 (1-2%) and the cost of the AWD is expected to be around $1500-2000

Q: So, do you know what your actual allotment of cars will be?
A: No, but we are the second largest dealer so we will be getting quite a few.

Q: So, I am specifying exactly what colors and options I want. Does this mean that once you get your "allotment" you'll order my car?
A: We should be able to get pretty close.

Q: So when will I be able to get a production number?
A: I will call you in a couple weeks to tell you when you can expect a production number.

So my translation of all of this is that my $1000 put my on a list to get one of their allotted 530xi's.

So, what else should I have asked?

Since this dealer isn't my first choice geographically-wise, I may attempt to shop the deal elsewhere. (I got MSRP-$2K,which I think is a good deal).
Old 02-27-2005, 05:40 AM
Super Moderator

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
My Ride: G30 M550i
Model Year: 2018

Originally Posted by Argelius' date='Feb 27 2005, 08:57 AM
Well, hopefully within about 4 months, I'll be more than a troller for information about, and actually be an owner of a 5-series.