E60 Discussion Anything and everything to do with the E60 5 Series. All are welcome!

2004 545i E60 Navigation Retrofit maybe BT

Search this Thread

Old 04-27-2006 | 07:56 PM
Members

I'm a newbie, so please bear with me. I have been reading on the forum here for the last week and have not really found a good answer to what i am trying to find out. I have a 2004 545i that i bought in the spring of last year. I love the car, but am pretty dissapointed that it has no bluetooth or navigation. I have taken it to the dealer and getting a answer from them is not working for me. My production date is 12/03 and it has satelite as well as navigation prep. I do have the voice button next to the menu button below the idrive control. i was told by the dealer it has the older version of bmw's phone service in it which is NOT bt. I would love to retrofit navigation onto this vehicle but like i said no direct answer on what it will take. One service writer told me $3800 installed. I am sure this is way too expensive as i have seen posts where people have spent much less than this. My question is, how can i find out what it will take to get the navigation as well as the bluetooth working on my car? Is there somewhere i can look or ask, exactly what my car already has as well as what i will need? Any advice would be greatly appreciated.
Old 04-27-2006 | 08:38 PM
Members

I think $3800 for the navigation retrofit sounds about right. Please note that it will always cost more than if it was ordered with the car, simply because the parts cost as an aftermarket accessory and you also have to factor in many hours of labor. I don't know where you read that it was cheaper, because I have seen anything like that. Some members even say that it might be cheaper to buy a new car with the options you want in come cases. The same applies for BT, it might not be quite expensive as $3800, but it will cost you a considerable amount of money.
Old 04-27-2006 | 09:04 PM
Senior Members