DIY: Do It Yourself Share all your DIY experiences here. Ask how-to questions also!

Wheel Lip Repolish DIY

Search this Thread

Old 05-02-2010, 10:48 PM
Senior Members

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
My Ride: 2005 BMW 545i

I recently decided to repolish my wheels since the lips lost their shine and showed various stains which would not come off no matter what type of cleaner or how much effort I put in. Frustrated I decided to try repolishing my wheels, and I am absolutely in love with the results! I figured I might as well share the process here since I didn't see one already and figured it would be helpful for anyone who wants to give their wheel lips new life without spending the $$$ to have it done professionally. This was my first time and I'm a wash and wax noob so I hope this helps and if people have tips/additional input please share!

Here is a quick before and after shot

Before:

After:

Now on to the DIY!

The goodies needed:
1. Aircraft Clearcoat Peeler
2. 1000, 1500, and 2000 grit sandpaper
3. Mag & Aluminum Polish
3. Hose and bucket of water
4. Lots of towels
5. About 1-2 hours of time per wheel

Steps:

1. Unmount wheels from car

2. Wash and clean the wheel

3. Tape off spokes to avoid damage to them. Be careful to really tape them up good, I would layer it twice or three times as much as shown in the picture below.

4. Grab some Aircraft Peeler from your local auto store if your wheel lips have a clearcoat. To prevent unwanted damage on the face of the wheel, spray it into a cup and use a paintbrush and dab a good amount around the wheel lip. Do not get it on your hands or where you don't want it, trust me! Being careful is key .

5. Wait about 10-15 minutes then wipe it down with a wet towel. Water disables the dissolving agent in the Aircraft Peeler. After you wipe it down, spray it down with a hose then dry it off with a towel. This is what my wheel looked like at this point: