DIY: Do It Yourself Share all your DIY experiences here. Ask how-to questions also!

Digital TV retrofit

Search this Thread

Old 12-21-2008, 07:24 AM
Members

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
My Ride: Carbon black 545i sport

Hello all, I'm looking for some guidance on retrofitting an OEM digital TV tuner to my (sat nav pro equipped) 545.
I've managed to source the brackets/cable/antenna kit and tuner separately and made a start on it today.

I got the tuner mounted in the boot and started loooking at the cabling. Now as I'm a data storage engineer, fibre cables hold no fear for me, but the kit I got seems to have 3 or 4 different lengths of cables and terminate in various different plugs (some with just end pieces on them) and without any install guide, I'm totally lost.

My other issue is the replacement antenna. Again without any install guide I'm wary of starting to haul at the roof lining without and idea where the clips etc are!

So I suppose my question is, does anyone have access to the retrofit guide? Or even pass on personal experience of this retrofit?

Thanks

Alan
Old 12-21-2008, 07:29 AM
Super Moderator

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
My Ride: 2011.5 Alpine White E90 M3 | Black Novillo Leather | Carbon Fiber Leather Trim | ZCP | ZP2 | M-DCT | Navigation | Moonroof | 6FL Mods: TMS 12.5mm spacers all around l Hawk HPS Brake Pads l OEM M3 Edition Grills l Paint Matched Side Gills l Key Hole D

this might help...

http://forums.e60.net/index.php?showtopic=...mp;#entry678033
Old 12-21-2008, 08:07 AM
Members

Originally Posted by GENEaTALS' post='749926' date='Dec 21 2008, 04:29 PM

Hi, thanks for that, I did see that posting, but wondered if maybe someone had maybe had any more info.
I've found a link where I can subscribe to the BMW TIS service, so I must do that and get the latest and greatest info.

cheers
Old 12-21-2008, 11:27 AM
Members

Originally Posted by alan545' post='749943' date='Dec 21 2008, 05:07 PM