DIY: Do It Yourself Share all your DIY experiences here. Ask how-to questions also!

12V Power Supply

Old 05-29-2006, 09:56 PM
Contributors

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Can anyone please show me a place to get power from the battery around the glove box or near the rear AC?? I need a place to get always hot, and a place which turns off with the ignition off... I know this question have been asked a few times by the guys, but I'm not very good with the fuse stuff, so if anyone can provide step by step or some pictures, that would be greatly appreciated! Thanks a bunch guys and sorry for a repetitive question...

PS: Had to share... Smoked an E240 last night... The E Class couldn't catch up with me since the start... E Class was my friend's car and he said that he floored his E Class and still couldn't catch up, I only accelerated a bit past half... BMW Power ALL THE WAY!!!
Old 05-29-2006, 10:46 PM
Contributors

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Supply to AC control module or glove box lights are always on. To test the glove box light, open glove box and leave it there. Come back after 15 or 30 minutes to see if light still on. If it's off, computer shut down the supply to the light.
For supply of AC control module, I'm sure it's on all the time. It connects to power supply via 15A fuse in glove box. The Red/Green wire is positve, and Brown wire is ground.
For power which turns on/off with the ignition, grab from power outlet either under passenger footwell or center cigarette supply. You must use fuse to avoid fire hazard.

Best Regards
Old 05-30-2006, 01:19 PM
Contributors

My Ride: (UK) Bulit: Feb 2004, 520i (M54), 6-Speed Manual, Black leather, Titanium Silver, Bi-Xenon, Headlamp washers, Side rear airbags, Park Distance Control, Aluminium trim, Standard Climate Control, 17" wheels, Pirelli P-Zero Rosso's, Spacesaver Spare wheel, Jack, Dynamic drive, Service Inclusive, Chrome grills, Software version 20.01.00, E60.net Clings, Painted wheel hubs silver