Detailing Forum Don't know if that wax is any good? Get your detailing answers and tips here.

Brake dust. My wheels are choking!

Search this Thread

Old 12-25-2005, 11:05 PM
Members

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

New Friends in the BMW world,

Just traded in my 2001 M3 on a 2004 545i sport package with 18 in wheels. The problem of break dust in much greater on the 545 compared to the M3. I am new to this problem. I nevered worrriend about it on the old "suburban" prior to the M3. What can be done???
Old 12-25-2005, 11:08 PM
Contributors

My Ride: 2005 545i with everything

Originally Posted by jlnetter' post='215627' date='Dec 26 2005, 12:05 AM

Just traded in my 2001 M3 on a 2004 545i sport package with 18 in wheels. The problem of break dust in much greater on the 545 compared to the M3. I am new to this problem. I nevered worrriend about it on the old "suburban" prior to the M3. What can be done???
I use a california car duster on the wheels a couple times a week. Works great as long as the brake dust hasn't been wet (ie. rained on).
Old 12-26-2005, 06:25 AM
Contributors

My Ride: 2014 X5 xDrive 5.0 M Package Carbon Black Metallic/2008 M Roadster Imola Red

Originally Posted by jlnetter' post='215627' date='Dec 26 2005, 03:05 AM

I "dust/wipe" it off daily in about 5 minutes using a large soft beach towel. I don't do a "perfect" job daily. I clean it off thoroughly usually no longer than every two weeks. If not washing my car at the same time, I use Meguiar's "Quick Detailer" to do the thorough cleanings. For the daily cleanings, I also somtimes use "Quick Detailer" sprayed on the towel and then dried with another spot on the towel.
Old 12-26-2005, 07:16 AM
Banned

My Ride: '05 545i, silver gray, black leather with anthracite maple wood, sport package, premium sound, navigation, cold weather package, electric rear sunshade, folding rear seat, satellite radio prep, PIAA 4150K fogs, red rear reflectors, hardwired Valentine One