The Competition Discuss the competition to the BMW 5 Series here. Mercedes, Audi, etc...

Is a 530 right for me?

Search this Thread

Old 02-22-2005, 11:40 AM
Members

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hi E60 Fans,

I would like to gain some insight from you guys in regards to whether or not the e60 is right for me. I am age 26, I am making over 50,000 right now. I do not own a home, rather I rent an apartment. I save about 1000 a month. I am a lessee at the moment with a 3 series. Currently single but in a relationship that may lead to marriage. No kids. I need the use of 4 doors. I enjoy my 3 series, but yearn for something a little more luxurious, and comfortable. I love the 5 series, and if I could afford it, i would have a 545/550i.

But really, I am at a crossroads. The next 3 series seems to be more adventerous which is a plus and I am not into 1 st year model glitches. So i might pass on the 3, even though I love my current 330. I am a standard driver, and really prefer a stick shift automobile.

Possible cars I am considering.

530i 06 (the dream car)
330i 05 (still love the look)
x3 Stick Shift version
Acura Tl 2005 - FWD big minus
Audi A4 2005.5
Audi A6 2005
Lexus Is300 2006
Boxster 2005
Volvo s60 AWDTurbo
Volvo S40 Stick

My heart really is with the 5. As a business owner, its a real plus to drive clients in the backseat of a 5 verses my 3. A 2 seater really is not an option unless its a base porsche. I then worry that this porsche will get too much attention.

Leasing is best, since the residual and MF are great on 5 series. If I go 5, I will order and recieve the new r6 engine with prem pack, cold weather pack, logic 7, and xenon lights. 6 Speed. Oddly enough, the lease price is decent for this vehicle.