Bluetooth & Cell Phone Forum Have a bluetooth or mobile/cellular phone issue or question? Your answer will be here!

some basic BT questions

Search this Thread

Old 10-23-2005, 07:42 AM
Members

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
My Ride: 06 530i. Premium, Sport, powere shades, Sat. radio and hopefully the occasional groupy in the seat.

What is needed to take full advantage of this system. These cradles that everyone is talking about, what benefit does that provide? And is there some installment options initially to get the phone to work with the car? The salesman didn't know.(beautiful). I have a Moto MPx-220, which is not on the list and surprises me as it is Moto's Smartphone running windows.
Old 10-23-2005, 08:44 AM
Red
Members

My Ride: MY06 530i, US Spec, Premium, Nav, HUD, Comfort seats, CWP, Sport package, Rear side airbags. Produced Sep 06.

I'm a BT newbie myself, but let me take a stab. I'm sure the experts will roll in pretty soon with more info.

- To use BT, all you need to do is follow the procedure to link the phone and the car. Doesn't have to be in a cradle to work, but without a cradle phone will use its own antenna and own power source.
-Cradle provide recharge (BT drains battery pretty quick) and access to car antenna in shark fin
- I use a Moto V550, which is also not on the list (V551 is though)
- I don't use a cradle 'cause my phone is office issue and I'm moving jobs soon
- BT itself works wonderfully. My sound quality is good and all phone book entries display in the car. Took only 5 minutes to link car and phone.

Lastly, try surfing around the BT forum for more details.
Old 10-23-2005, 04:28 PM
Contributors

My Ride: (USA) 645Ci, Silver Gray, Chateau, Cold Weather PKG, Premium Sound PKG, Sport PKG, Step, NAV [Std Equip in 645], HUD, Satellite (SIRIUS) Radio, Aux Input, Bluetooth enabled using iPhone 3GS w/ adapter cradle - Build date - 01/05, Baby delivered 2/24/05

Originally Posted by Red' date='Oct 23 2005, 12:44 PM