Bluetooth & Cell Phone Forum Have a bluetooth or mobile/cellular phone issue or question? Your answer will be here!

Bluetooth Streaming Audio Options

Search this Thread

Old 11-05-2020, 08:56 AM
New Members

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
My Ride: 2007 530i, N52, 6MT, M-ASK, Mystikblau
Default Bluetooth Streaming Audio Options

I have been playing with many different options for using Bluetooth audio streaming with my E60 and wanted to share my experience. I hope this info is helpful. I'm no expert so if anyone has more info, please post it.

My car is a North American (US) 2007 530i (built 4/06) with M-ASK Business Radio (not Logic 7, no Nav) with factory Bluetooth phone/telematics (TCU module), CD Changer prep option, and factory AUX input.

I use an Android phone with Spotify and Pandora for streaming music.

Here are the options I have tried along with my comments:

=============Analog Audio Adapters (AUX Input)==============
All these options send audio through the analog Aux input on the M-ASK/CCC/CIC. Some cars have an Aux port in the center console, some have it in the rear console, others may have it in the glove box, and many don't have any visible aux jack anywhere! All the cars have the physical connections on the back of the radio for aux input. If you don't have an "AUX" tab on your main radio screen, you will need to code the feature using NCS Expert. There are plenty of YouTube videos and tutorials on how to code in the Aux option so I won't go over that here. Once the option is enabled, you can choose to buy a cable to plug into the rear of the radio which will provide a standard female 1/8" jack for line input or you can connect one of the many other devices listed here directly to the jack on the back of the radio. Some options let you do both.

<u>Hardwire aux cable from phone to AUX in port</u> Hardwire aux cable from phone to AUX in port

Pro: Very cheap (~$8 USD). Idiot proof.