E60 Discussion Anything and everything to do with the E60 5 Series. All are welcome!

Transmission fluid/filter change help please I want to die

Search this Thread

Old 07-02-2024, 08:01 AM
New Members

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
My Ride: 2008 BMW E60 550i (N62B48)
Default Transmission fluid/filter change help please I want to die

I have a 2008 BMW E60 550i but this question is relevant for any e60 and I believe some e90s aswell with the ZF transmission.

This is my first time doing a transmission fluid/filter change on a bmw, and I am learning it us much much much more agitating, (I should’ve known). I have a few questions about the procedure. I am not used to there being 2 drain plugs as one is for the filler drain plug and the other being the filter drain plug. First, I went ahead and I drained the fluid from the filler drain plug (which is the one above the filter plug), and when I drained it, it dumped about 2/3 of a quart (rough estimation). I will provide a picture of the fluid in the drain pan. Now, I am having issues with draining the filter because No.1, I am 18 and not rich. No. 2, I am not the greatest mechanic yet with only 2 years experience in auto school. So the reason I am nervous or unable to change the filter is because I don’t want to break anything lol. That being said, I am not sure how much fluid is in the filter, so how much transmission fluid should I put in? Also, do I really have to get the transmission warm halfway by starting the car and going through the gears? I would rather not, but I will if I have to. Thanks.

Old 07-02-2024, 08:31 AM
Super Moderator

Received 311 Likes on 298 Posts
My Ride: 05 530i M54
Model Year: 05 530i
Engine: 3.0 M54