E60 Discussion Anything and everything to do with the E60 5 Series. All are welcome!

E61 530d Electric Issues

Search this Thread

Old 01-30-2018, 01:48 AM
New Members

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
My Ride: BMW E61 530d
Model Year: 2005
Engine: 3.0d
Default E61 530d Electric Issues

Hello guys, newbie here.

I have a 2005 E61 530d Automatic and some strange issues recently made me lose it, I had the car for 7 years now and besides a turbo rebuild I had no problems with it. So maybe you can give me a few pointers:

1. Sudden battery discharge, overnight, new battery, I am on my 3rd 100Ah Varta now. Only happens in winter, no problems in the summer.
2. When it finally starts, I get a lot of error messages and I completely lose powersteering (servotronic failure, transission failure, abs/dsc failure, batteru high discharge rate) If I stop and start again, they all go away, everything turns back to normal.

Tester showed "high voltage/overcharge" at some point, it seems to be random, nothing else. Now I am waiting for another new battery, which is really crazy.

3. Autolevelling is not working, sensors are ok and in place, though the headlights are retrofits with dynamic xenon (insurance error after a fender bender) and the car was not originally equipped with Dynamic Xenon, just regular Xenon Lights. How can I get the autolevelling to work again? I don't care for the dynamic feature, just the autolevelling.

4. Remote function of the key doesn't work anymore, I can't open/close the car via remote, I am guessing the diversity antenna died from water leaks? are there any fuses related to this?

A few pics with my car
Attached Thumbnails E61 530d Electric Issues-image2.jpeg   E61 530d Electric Issues-image9.jpeg   E61 530d Electric Issues-fio.jpg  
Old 01-30-2018, 04:06 AM
Super Moderator

Received 292 Likes on 281 Posts
My Ride: 05 530i M54
Model Year: 05 530i
Engine: 3.0 M54