Press Articles & Your Comments Post links to 5 Series related magazine articles along with your commentary.

EURO NCAP Crash Test Results for E60

Search this Thread

Old 09-21-2004, 07:21 AM
Senior Members

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Thumbs down

this weeks Autocar apparently carries a brief report that states BMW have hit problems carrying out the EURO NCAP crash tests. The report suggests that the initial tests would have awarded the E60 a poor 3 star rating which would be a disaster for a car like the BMW 5-series with a reputation for best in class safety.

Autocar's source suggests that the problem was supposed to be structural rather than a minor problem. The magazine go on to say that BMW will publish NO results as yet and intend to retake the tests ASAP when they expect to get a five star rating!

I am no expert in these crash tests, but how is a manufacturer allowed to retake the tests with a car that is already on our roads? Surely the design of the car is fixed and BMW cannot be allowed to improve its safety without notifying existing owners? I mean they could well get 5stars on a retest, GREAT, but what about all existing E60's? does that mean our cars are potentially not as safe?

....I know some of the rating is given for the cars ability to not injure pedestrians as much etc etc, which, being selfish would not detract from the safety of the occupants but still....
Old 09-21-2004, 07:26 AM
Senior Members

My Ride: '04 545i/6sp SilverGray/Beige

How is that test different from the IIHS (Insurance Institute for Highway Safety) test in the USA. In that test, basically every BMW model receives the highest marks possible.

-MrB
Old 09-21-2004, 07:26 AM
Contributors

My Ride: E90 M3
Model Year: 2011

Good questions, and I would also be curious how the European tests differ from the ones in the US, where the 5 has earned the highest rating, at least in the off center frontal crash test.
Old 09-21-2004, 07:28 AM
Super Moderator

My Ride: F02 LCI Individual