New Member Introductions Please introduce yourself. Everyone here was once new to the 5 Series Forums so don't be shy! Welcome!

Delivery Dream/Nightmare

Search this Thread

Old 08-12-2008, 01:25 AM
Members

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
My Ride: I have a 2008 535i fully loaded built 23 July!

First and foremost I want to tell you all that this is by far the best E60 forum there is! I've been coming for a couple of months now and I try and track all the new posts that come through. Now that the introduction is complete and props have been given to E60.net, I'll go into my wife's delivery of our new 535i last week in Kaiserslautern Germany.

So Fran arrives in Ansbach where I currently live and my good friend gives her a ride to pick up our car last Wednesday afternoon and everything went seemingly fine. About 2 hours later right before Fran was about to drive back to Ansbach she gets a warning in the iDrive that says "Engine Malfunction"......"Reduced Power". At this point she's only driven the car for 5 miles and there is a problem! She takes it back to the dealer at 1715 (they close at 1730) so she has to leave it there overnight for them to try and fix it the next day. Now she has to spend the night because it is a 2 hour drive back to Ansbach.

Thursday morning comes and she contacts the dealer and the car is hooked up to the machine and no word on what is wrong. At 1400 they call and tell her that the car is ready and that the problem was a loose cable. No harm no foul, most important thing was that it turned out to be something simple.

All in all things turned out fine and the car made the journey from Germany back to Venice, Italy where we live. The pics are quick ones that Fran took (to satify me because I couldn't be there) right after she had the wheels replaced. They are temp wheels until I can convince her to let me spend 4k on OZ wheels. Please share your thoughts.