Lounge How was your day? Anything goes but please keep it PG-13!

New camera - EOS 5D... the switch from Nikon

Search this Thread

Old 11-17-2006, 07:21 AM
Contributors

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
My Ride: 2006 530i Sport Silver Gray - Black Leather - Anthracite Maple Manual Transmission Premium Audio Cold Weather Package Rear sunshade Sirius Radio Autobahnd Roadblock (3M) film kit

So... as many of you know, I'm an avid photographer. If I could make comparable money doing it full-time, I'd certainly consider a career change. I have been shooting Nikon for years as my primary system - having started with film and then moving to a D70 a little over 2.5 years ago. I also shoot manual film rangefinders - a 35mm and 6x9. I primarly like shooting events that I attend (weddings/parties), objects (my car!), urban landscapes/landmarks/architecture, and portraits. I have started doing some landscape, but it's hard in my area - I generally need to travel to do this.

Recently, on a photo workshop trip, I was really impressed by the quality I was seeing out of some of the participants' Canon EOS-5D cameras. Really blown away by it actually. The workshop pros who were teaching actually prodded me towards considering a switch since we were having many technical discussions (arguments) about post-processing and capture technique. Many of their techniques were reliant on clean noiseless capture - or at least worked much better when starting with a clean capture. I kept continuously challenging their techniques (and they mine) due to this fundamental difference. What I felt was necessary with my Nikon system they felt was unnecessary because they had been so used to working with Canon. Their solution? Switch. So...