Lounge How was your day? Anything goes but please keep it PG-13!

BP is just a big drop in a very bad ocean

Search this Thread

Old 06-20-2010, 08:57 PM
Contributors

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
My Ride: Alpine White 2006 530Xi (SLD)

Can it be real? One out of two men alive today will develop some kind of cancer in their lifetimes - that's a chilling statistic I've heard in this documentary I was watching the other day, "The Corporation". And BP spill, though extremely large and sure to affect the environment of the entire planet, is just a drop in an ocean of oil-based products, byproducts and pollutants that we are all being exposed to. And yet, I've just ordered my iPhone 4, my Bimmer needs new tires and I'm a commodities trader... wow, I really feel like I'm on the wrong path but I'm an extremely tiny element in this consumerist society... although... if I don't do anything, how can I expect the other I's to act?

I'm going to fill up a styrofoam cup with some instant coffee and add some Monsanto-enhanced milk to it. I might see y'all tomorrow

this really puts a whole new spin on "taking each day as a gift from God"...
Old 06-20-2010, 09:08 PM
Contributors

My Ride: See my signature

Originally Posted by v_therussian
Can it be real? One out of two men alive today will develop some kind of cancer in their lifetimes - that's a chilling statistic I've heard in this documentary I was watching the other day, "The Corporation". And BP spill, though extremely large and sure to affect the environment of the entire planet, is just a drop in an ocean of oil-based products, byproducts and pollutants that we are all being exposed to. And yet, I've just ordered my iPhone 4, my Bimmer needs new tires and I'm a commodities trader... wow, I really feel like I'm on the wrong path but I'm an extremely tiny element in this consumerist society... although... if I don't do anything, how can I expect the other I's to act?