5Series.net - Forums

5Series.net - Forums (https://5series.net/forums/)
-   F10 Discussion (https://5series.net/forums/f10-discussion-33/)
-   -   Noob Suspension Question (https://5series.net/forums/f10-discussion-33/noob-suspension-question-133969/)

bimernoob 07-13-2013 06:37 PM

Noob Suspension Question

I'm a BMW noob, looking for a 5 series. A few of the cars I'm considering have the M Sport package and feature what appears to be a button behind the shifter. Is this indeed a button and if so, is this what activates the Active Roll Stabilization?

Also, how would you rate the M Sport package? Does it make the car hande alot better or just screw up the ride?

Sonicendeavor 07-14-2013 09:27 PM

Originally Posted by bimernoob (Post 1512923)
I'm a BMW noob, looking for a 5 series. A few of the cars I'm considering have the M Sport package and feature what appears to be a button behind the shifter. Is this indeed a button and if so, is this what activates the Active Roll Stabilization?

Also, how would you rate the M Sport package? Does it make the car hande alot better or just screw up the ride?

It depends on what model year F10 you're looking at, as the packages changed since 2011. In 2013 for example the MSport package consists of the aero kit, a slightly lower ride height,stiffer coil springs, different rear struts and a different front stabilizer bar, and the MSport steering wheel. This is a passive suspension unless you have the dynamic handling package, which replaces the passive suspension with an active one. Yes, the mode switch controls the active suspension if the dynamic handling package is installed, otherwise it just controls steering, throttle response, and shift points.
The passive MSport suspension is stiffer without being harsh and in my opinion provides a much better driving experience.

geobmw 07-15-2013 06:33 PM

Originally Posted by Sonicendeavor (Post 1512978)