F10 Discussion Anything and everything to do with the F10 5 Series. The F10 made it's debut in 2010 as a MY2011.

New 550i Production Tracking Questions

Search this Thread

Old 09-20-2012, 10:10 PM
New Members

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

So I'm new to the BMW ordering process. I've read several posts from multiple forums and websites about tracking your new BMW from its order inception to the time you get to plant your rear in that luxury seat, but I was wondering if you guys could help with some details using your knowledge and previous experiences. At this rate, my CA has noted production of my 2013 550i sometime during the first week of October. I guess that is week 40 on BMW's production schedule. So here's where my questions start.
  1. Does BMW typically produce "customer sold" vehicles in the first part of the week priorto standard dealer stock vehicles?
  2. On average, how many days does it take to produce an F10 550i?
  3. Does BMW produce vehicles 7 days a week or is it more a Monday through Saturday?
  4. If my production week is week 40 (Monday, October 1st to Saturday, October 6th), would it be remotely possible that my baby could make it on the Saturday the 6th departure of the W&W ship FARGO (Voyage #: CD240-FGO)? (Final dest: Port Hueneme, CA)
  5. How many days, including VDC processing, does it take for a new vehicle to get from ship to my BMW Center - BMW of San Diego?

I know I'm asking a lot of questions here, but I'm sure many of you can sympathize with my obsession and excitement of my first BMW order.

New 550i Production Tracking Questions-prod-date.jpg

---------------------------------

On Order: 2013 550iSedan (F10) | 6MT | M Sport | Imperial Blue | Cinnamon Brwn | C. Weather | DvrAsst Pkg | Exec Pkg | B&O Sound | Lux Seat Pkg | DDC

Current: 2010 335i Sedan(E90) | 6MT | Sport | Jet Black | Black | C. Weather | Premium Pkg | HD Radio |Nav