5Series.net - Forums

5Series.net - Forums (https://5series.net/forums/)
-   F10 Discussion (https://5series.net/forums/f10-discussion-33/)
-   -   Considering a 2013 Activehybrid 5 series (https://5series.net/forums/f10-discussion-33/considering-2013-activehybrid-5-series-138053/)

rmcd 05-03-2014 07:45 PM

Considering a 2013 Activehybrid 5 series

Hi there.

This is my first time on this forum. I've been on the E60 forum since 2005.

"Precious" is starting to look her age and so I'm considering trading her in on a 2013 ActiveHybrid 5. I'm not particularly interested in the Activehybrid but the car is nicely tricked out and at a good price from the dealer. My interest in it is because of the age, milage (5,000 miles), and the options included. I've not seen a car like it for a while.

The background on the car is that it's a service loaner from a location across town. I've actually not seen it yet.

My question to this forum is if anyone has experience with the Activehybrid? Does it improve the drive and handling of the car? What are the downsides?

Of course, I know that it's a more complex car.

Thanks

rmcd 06-07-2014 07:59 PM

Decided to buy it - took delivery today.

I was travelling for a month before I finally decided to purchase the Activehybrid. I too delivery this morning and drove it for a couple of hours this afternoon.

I'll post commentary occasionally on it's Activehybrid features and on the F10 features in general.

First point is that the Activehybrid feature is kinda neat. It does two things. It kicks in when the car accelerates. Additionally, in Eco-pro and Comfort mode it will run at low speeds on just battery. But that doesn't last for two long.

The additional weight is noticeable and I think I'll miss the loss of trunk space. And I really hate the noise and stiffness of run-flats.

Cheers for now.

Gilgorm 06-08-2014 10:16 AM