E61 Touring Discussion The touring is also known as the wagon version of the 5 series.

RPA

Search this Thread

Old 10-24-2011, 03:55 AM
Members

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
My Ride: E61 525i touring 2004

Hi,

Firstly, I am a newbie to the world of BMW. I have recently purchased my 04 e61 525i, i have had a couple of problems with the car to date. One being a replacement of the rear suspension pump, i was getting the system level control faults.... garage diagnosed it as faulty pump. It was replaced under warranty thankfully other wise i would not have been a happy bunny for sure!!

Secondly i had the oil level sensor short circuit the engine injector electrics which left me stranded as the engine would turn over but not start. So after a new oil level sensor and 300 hundred smackers later, again on the warranty. I was back up and running.

Though the main reason for this post is to enquire about the RPA tyre pressure system. Last week drive told me i had a puncher (not the first time i have had the warning), so i pulled over checked the tyres with no obvious flat visible. So i preceded to the nearest garage, checked the tyre pressures on all wheels and set to recommended pressure, reset the RPA in idrive and i was of on my way again. On the way to work this morning i get another puncher warning, so i go through the procedure just mentioned, this time the tyres have no difference in pressure and are spot on from last weeks check.