E61 Touring Discussion The touring is also known as the wagon version of the 5 series.

Introducing myself... soon to be 2008 535xi owner

Search this Thread

Old 03-22-2011, 01:56 PM
Members

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
My Ride: BMW 535xi wagon. Monaco Blue/Dakota Brown interior, M Package

Hello,

My name is Alex, live in Atlanta, GA, but moving to San Francisco bay Area in April. I came here to learn about how to properly lower my soon to be purchased 535xi wagon for the type of roads I'll be driving, and the type of use I will make of the car:

I know how to use the search function, and will be careful to research before asking newbie questions. I do however want to put it out there that the info I'm looking for will be regarding the following:

-I work in sales, so I'll be driving the car a lot on the highway and sometimes on some moderately curvy roads like the PCH, but never in any performance/autocross type of event. I'll occasionally tow a light trailer with my motorcycle on it. Lastly, I'll be putting some snow tires on my stock BMW wheels for those rare occasions when i will see snow/drive up to Tahoe to ski.

I'm trying to understand what the best way to moderately lower this car so it sits well on 19" wheels (I'm thinking some kind of CSL replica) wihout compromising handling too much. I've read bits and pieces on lots of different forums about coil-overs, just lowering springs, just front lowering springs etc... the info seems to be conflicting to say the least.