E60, E61 Parts, Accessories and Mods Discussion about both stock and aftermarket parts for the E60. Accessories and modifications too!

Installed Dinan Free Flow exhaust

Search this Thread

Old 10-11-2006, 08:20 PM
Members

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Newbie here. I have a 2007 550i (blk/tan, sports pkg, step, nav, logic 7, etc.) and just had the Dinan free flow exhaust and 19" oem style 166 wheels with Michelin Pilot Sport PS2 tires installed today. Also had the side skirts from the M package installed. Wheels/tires/sideskirts look great on the car. However, the SOUND of the new exhaust is incredible and in my opinion makes the car. When the dealer pulled my car into the service bay you could hear a nice low rumble as the car approached. Not loud and trashy. Just a nice low mellow rumble. Dealer claimed that my car was the first 550 on which they installed the dinan exhaust and most of the service guys came over to say how much they liked the sound.

I was afraid the exhaust might make the car sound like a 70's era muscle car or souped up mustang. I am happy to report that is not the case. On the highway you can barely hear an increase in the exhaust. Sounds stock. But at idle or just pulling away from a stop sign it has an unmistakeable sound of power, but in my opinion, in a "classy" way. To me, it sounds very similar to the new jaguar xk, which is widely reported to have a great sounding exhaust. I found myself driving in the manual mode on the way home just to keep the revs up and listen to the sweet sound!