E60 M5 Discussion The almighty M5. Have you seen one today?

Lemon or no Lemon? I want an M5!!!

Search this Thread

Old 10-06-2008, 11:27 AM
Senior Members

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Recently i have been doing alot of researching and looking for a 2006 M5, I am a Canadian Resident and have been looking extensively in the states for an M5. After finding a few in the lower 50's. I have come across one from Diamond Re Marking Group with 25k miles black on black loaded for 49.

I have seen some negative (very) negative feedback on this company about dealer buy back lemons and he has confirmed that this was a dealer buy back due to a hydrolic shifter recall or something (the SMG). He admitted that it was a dealer buy buy but has full warranty and if it was messed up BMW wouldn't honor this warranty.

He also informs me that the cluster doesn't need to be changed that he can program the cluster so that the daylight running lights will be on without the cluster replacement. Basically i need some advice on what to do here. It is a very good deal on the car, but is it smart buying a dealer buyback lemon lawed car? HELP!!!

Thanks guys,

Aartsy
Old 10-06-2008, 11:40 AM
Contributors

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
My Ride: E60 M5, F85 X5M

Hi Aartsy. First off, welcome to the forum!

I also came across Diamond Remarketing Group when I was shopping for my M5 almost 2 years ago. They had some great prices but all of their M5s were lemon-law buybacks. This is not necessarily a bad thing as BMW resold these vehicles at auctions after a thorough fix of the problem. The only bad thing is if you were ever to resell the car, you will probably have a hard time getting rid of it. If resell value and potential are important to you, you should look for a clean car. If not, then go for it and have fun.

Good luck!

Tony
Old 10-06-2008, 11:59 AM
Contributors

My Ride: 2006 BMW M5