E60 M5 Discussion The almighty M5. Have you seen one today?

Crazy Revving

Search this Thread

Old 09-10-2008 | 12:54 AM
Members

I am in the market for a used 2008 M5 and today i found one that has a low mileage on it and they were giving quite a good price.

When i went to see the car today, i went to start the car up. During the first 30 seconds after i press the engine button, the rev was going up and down between 1500rpm and 500 rpm.

I asked the dealer, not a BMW dealer, and the sales guy told me that it was normal because the car has not been warm up for quite sometime.

My question is, Is it normal and if it is not, any suggestion on what i should do?

I'm very very new in BMW world.

Anyway, this is the link for the car. anyone know about the story behind it or anyone has done business with them before? inputs are greatly appreciated.

http://www.autotrader.com/fyc/vdp.jsp?ct=u...&cardist=14
Old 09-10-2008 | 01:49 AM
JMC
Contributors

My Ride: 2008 M5, Silverstone II/Black

M5s certainly do rev quite high when you start them cold. They are actually quite load when you first start them up as the 1200 - 1500 rpm range seems to produce quite a lot of exhaust resonance. Mine dies down after a minute or so to a steady idle around 700 rpm, very quiet and civilised. If that's all you saw then everything should be OK. If the revs were increasing and decreasing multiple times, especially if it seemed random or uncontrolled, that's not something I'm familiar with.

I doubt there are any real issues here, but if there are you are looking at a 2008 car and the warranty is still good for years yet.
Old 09-10-2008 | 03:05 AM
Senior Members

My Ride: 2008 E60 M5/SMG (LCI) Interlagos Blue/Black Merino Aux input, sun protection glass, Bluetooth, Voice control

hi and welcome.