E60, E61 Parts, Accessories and Mods Discussion about both stock and aftermarket parts for the E60. Accessories and modifications too!

Wheel weight effect on acceleration

Search this Thread

Old 12-06-2004, 07:57 AM
Senior Members

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Being an engineer, I've been doing some acceleration testing on my 545 6sp. I've been running a 2-way test on the same strip of road, first with my BBS 19" RS-GT wheels and Goodyear F1 GS-D3 tires, then with my OEM 18" wheels and Michelin Pilot A/S tires. First, the rolling diameters of the BBS setup is 25.496 in, and the OEM setup is 25.579 - a .3% difference. I've been running from 2000-5000 rpm (35-86mph) in 3rd gear, and timing with a stopwatch. I've tracked temperature, tire pressures, barometric pressures, wind and car weight to make sure I'm comparing apples to apples. My results suprised me. The times were slightly different depending on test direction.

19" BBS setup times:

8.58 seconds SD of .04 one way
9.05 sd of .05 other way

18" OEM setup times

8.85 seconds SD of .06 one way
9.36 seconds SD of .05 other way

The BBS tire/wheel setup is 10 lbs less than the OEM setup, for a total of 40 lbs. (Actually, the runflats are 4 lbs heavier than the Michelins).

.3 seconds is one heck of a difference in times, but the car definitely feels more sluggish with the OEM setup. Does this make sense with what anyone else has experienced? Am I forgetting something?
Old 12-06-2004, 08:04 AM
Senior Members

Driver?
Old 12-06-2004, 08:12 AM
Senior Members

Originally Posted by Jimbo' date='Dec 6 2004, 11:04 AM
Driver?
[snapback]65491[/snapback]
I was pretty careful to eliminate as much driver input as I could. 3rd gear, at 1500 rpm floor it. Click stopwatch on at 2000. Keep pedal floored. Click stopwatch off when you hit 5000 rpm. Brake, repeat. Other than watching for the occasional car or truck, not much for the driver to do.
Old 12-06-2004, 08:15 AM
Contributors