E60, E61 Parts, Accessories and Mods Discussion about both stock and aftermarket parts for the E60. Accessories and modifications too!

Used Eisenmann Race Exhaust Purchase

Search this Thread

Old 01-19-2009, 05:38 PM
Contributors

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
My Ride: 2005 545i

I just bought a used Eisenmann muffler for my 545. I liked the sound online, but not sure I wanted to invest a couple of grand into it. I saw a used one here on the forum and it was local, so I checked into it. I had researched sound and feedback on the forum, but due to alot of travel and business priorities, I didnt do as thorough a job as I would usually do (Im an engineer...ha). So, when I got back in town I squeezed in a quick meet with the seller and I bought it on the spot. I got it home and started cleaning some of the dust off it and I couldnt find any model number or any other markings other than the tips. I started checking on the forum and then hit an old thread about the couterfeit exhaust through eisenhaus. So, I rechecked the muffler and there was no metal tag welded to it. There was only tack welds where the tag was cut off...hmmm. I called the seller immediately and talked to him about my concern and does he still have the tag...he does not, but he had it taken off because "it was vibrating against the muffler".

Can anyone tell me if there is any chance in hell that the tag would cause a vibration? I am trying to give the benefit of the doubt, but it seems fishy since the tag is the key to the real vs fake one.

I am also considering checking with the current Eisenmann NA repersentative and see if they can tell me if its the real deal or not. Maybe a photo?

Any other advice?

Thanks!
Old 01-19-2009, 07:32 PM
Contributors

My Ride: 04 525i, 04 Dinan M3

Did you buy it from a guy called quad_m?
Old 01-19-2009, 08:35 PM
Former Vendor

My Ride: F13 M6

no issues like that when I had my eisenmann before
Old 01-19-2009, 09:22 PM
Contributors