E60, E61 Parts, Accessories and Mods Discussion about both stock and aftermarket parts for the E60. Accessories and modifications too!

Replica or OEM wheels

Search this Thread

Old 04-22-2008, 08:34 PM
Contributors

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
My Ride: '05 545 Titanium Silver, Black Leather - Nav, Logic 7, Cold weather. Mods: Carbon filter removed. M5 iDrive knob. Umnitza license plate LEDs. MP3 40% 3M tint ACS Anti-Roll(sway) bars RPI Scoop G-tech Pro RR CF Roundels CF Wheel caps

OK I'm kinda new at this, I was thinking of getting some different wheels for my '05 545. How can I really tell if I am getting OEM wheels or just replicas? I saw some online and the seller only knows they came off a 545 not if they were OEM or replica. What can I tell them to check for me before I commit to buying them and what should I be looking for so that I know I received the real deal? Do they have BMW or a part number stamped somewhere inside?
Old 04-22-2008, 10:19 PM
Contributors

My Ride: 2005 Tit Silver 530i // Sport Package // M167 Style Rims // M-Technic Kit 2003 Tit Silver X5 3.0 (E53) - Wifey's 1991 Black 525i (E34) - Retired
Thumbs down

DO NOT BUY REPLICA! From personal experience, (if I were you) just go with OEM or invest in some nice rims if you have some
moola (i.g. VIP Modular, Hamann, ACS, etc...).

I should've ran the other way, but dumb me went ahead and bought the replicas. I did thorough research before I bought the rims,
but one thing that I didn't realize was the bore size. If it doesn't fit you need to get hubrings and some electrical tape to get rid of
vibration or minimize the affect.

***Beware*** Some salesmen aren't experienced enough with proper information and they are just going to sell you the rims to
make a buck or two. I bought mine from a company that advertises on here and bimmerfest, and I disappointed with the purchase overall.