E60, E61 Parts, Accessories and Mods Discussion about both stock and aftermarket parts for the E60. Accessories and modifications too!

New aero package(s)

Search this Thread

Old 05-06-2009, 03:28 PM
Members

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I've been searching for a nice aero package to add to my 545i Sport. There seems to be plenty of options and styles with varying prices. I am aware of what carbon fiber, how its made, etc. etc. My question to the members is; what is the best material for a daily driver? Do I consider fiberglass, polypropylene, what? I've got some experience with 'glass and the fragility scares me. How do these different materials accept paint and hold their shapes, etc. etc.

You can probably see where I'm going here with this topic. I would appreciate all input!

Thanks, Jim
Old 05-06-2009, 04:13 PM
Contributors

My Ride: 2004 E60 530i, 2012 E70 X5 35i
Model Year: 2004

Originally Posted by gretamay' post='870345' date='May 6 2009, 07:28 PM
I've been searching for a nice aero package to add to my 545i Sport. There seems to be plenty of options and styles with varying prices. I am aware of what carbon fiber, how its made, etc. etc. My question to the members is; what is the best material for a daily driver? Do I consider fiberglass, polypropylene, what? I've got some experience with 'glass and the fragility scares me. How do these different materials accept paint and hold their shapes, etc. etc.

You can probably see where I'm going here with this topic. I would appreciate all input!

Thanks, Jim
You're best bet is to go with the OEM Mtech kit. That I believe is Polypropylene (I'm not sure), but its flexible and is better in the low run. No one on the forum really used fiberglass for their bumpers. I think the only thing fiberglass is Front splitters.

You can contact Umnitza and get their kits. Their bumpers are almost OEM match but for a fraction of the price.
Old 05-06-2009, 04:33 PM
Super Moderator

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts