E60 Discussion Anything and everything to do with the E60 5 Series. All are welcome!

Which wheels

Search this Thread

Old 03-06-2012, 08:56 AM
Members

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
My Ride: 2010 535i xDrive, Space Gray Metallic, Gray Dakota Leather, automatic, comfort access, window shades, comfort seats, fold down rear seats, PDC, Navi, HUD, HD Radio, premium package, value package

Hi Folks,

I'm a noob on this site (first post) and a noob to BMW (never owned one before). I'm in the process of picking up a nicely equipped 2010 535XI.

I have a choice of the OEM wheels that came with the car 8x17's all around which I believe are called VSpoke 277 (I think not sure) running all season tires OR for no additional cost I can opt for the OEM staggered 8x18 front and 9x18 rear (I believe these are called type 124).

The car I'm looking at has the Vspoke 277's but the dealer has a very similar car in the same year with the staggered 124's and he gave me the choice of either set for no extra cost (private dealer not a BMW dealer if anyone is wondering).

I'm really somewhat torn. I live in the northeast so a good all-season tire is a must unless I have a winter/summer set. The 17's have all seasons on them and the extra sidewall is nice for comfort. The staggered 18's will handle better, driver harsher and will require me to either replace with all season when the time comes or buy another set of winter wheels.

The 17" tires are cheaper long term.

I'm really torn. Also, I like a wide stance but the staggered wheels ALMOST look like they have to much offset for the car. They are both OEM and correct wheels but the 18"s really peak out at certain angles.

I'm also going to inspect each wheel to see if one set is better than the others. The 18's are almost perfect (on small curb scratch -- not even rash). I haven't inspected the 17"s yet. The tire tread on both sets is fine.

Any input/advice appreciated!
Old 03-06-2012, 09:18 AM
Members