E60 Discussion Anything and everything to do with the E60 5 Series. All are welcome!

Tire recommendations

Search this Thread

Old 08-25-2007, 06:00 PM
Contributors

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
My Ride: ActiveHybrid - fully tricked out
Model Year: 2013
Thumbs up

Good day;

I'm looking for comments and advice while I decide which tires to buy next.

My profile: late 40's, not an aggressive driver, like to think I'm an above average driver (like 80% of the population). mostly city driving and some highways around the city. I have an SUV for winter driving but she does see the occasional bit of snow if I don't plan correctly. Like: quiet ride, good control, reasonable wear. Dislike: RF,'s noise of the current Dunlops.

I haven't priced anything yet, but I'm considering:

michelin - which I understand to be more expensive
Pilot Sport / 2 - recommended for M3 by Michelin. Very sporty. Ultra-performance.
- read comments here that they wear out fast but people really like them.
Pilot Primacy - recommended for 5 series by Michelin. Sporty but more for "touring".
- would like to know if anyone has these and can comment.
Pilot MXM4 - looks like more of an all season tire. "Performance Touring"

Continential - appear to be cheaper
contitouring contact cv95
contisport contact 2 - ssr - I've seen positive posts here about these.

Goodyear
Eagle RS-A - mentioned as a possible tire on Tire Rack. No knowledge about them

Dunlop
Sport Maxx - there are a few positive posts here on the forum
SP Sport 10 DSST - according to Dunlop, quiet, high performance

What do people recommend either from the list above or their own experience? And, how does your driving profile compare to mine?

Thanks
Old 08-26-2007, 03:41 AM
Members

Originally Posted by rmcd' post='462560' date='Aug 25 2007, 10:00 PM
Good day;