E60 Discussion Anything and everything to do with the E60 5 Series. All are welcome!

For those of you with aftermarket intercoolers: GodSpeed vs CxRacing V-Mount

Search this Thread

Old 04-10-2014, 03:40 PM
Members
Senior Members

Received 13 Likes on 13 Posts
My Ride: E61 with all the mods
Model Year: 2008
Engine: N54
Default For those of you with aftermarket intercoolers: GodSpeed vs CxRacing V-Mount

Hey guys,

I am torn between which intercooler to get and am looking for advice from owners who have experience with either, ideally fitted to a 535i or 535xi. I am aware of the bolt on 535i specific intercoolers and am not really interested in those (unless a used one falls into my lap for the price I am looking to spend on these two. I am an amateur DIYer and am always looking for things to get my hands dirty with; in addition I place Value/$ high on my priority list.

Here are some of my understandings on these 2 Intercoolers, please correct me if I am misinformed:

Similarities:
- Volume is roughly the same size
- Both share a basic Cooling/Fin Design
- Both will require some cutting and custom mounting solutions

Differences:
GodSpeed:
- Front Mount Design
- 22x6x6 = 792
- Does not require relocation of other cooling units and less trimming
- Located slightly lower than ideal for direct air flow.
- Does not block radiator
- Includes piping and elbows
- $385

CxRacing:
- V-Mount Design
- 18x12x3.5 = 756
- More labor to install compared to Godspeed
- Although located behind more direct air flow, the top of the IC is covered by the bump and also slightly blocks the radiator (people say the proximity to the radiator is not an issue but I feel it is worth mentioning).
- Hardware not included but I can source for $110
- $180 + $110 = $290

It is almost a toss up for me, can anyone with experience sway me one way or another?
Thanks,
Evan

GodSpeed:

CxRacing:
Old 04-10-2014, 08:28 PM
Members
Senior Members

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts