E60 Discussion Anything and everything to do with the E60 5 Series. All are welcome!

Spinning so dangerously in the wet with DSC on?

Search this Thread

Old 07-31-2006, 12:15 PM
Senior Members

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
My Ride: On Order, due in May - 2007MY 530D SE, Silver Grey, Black Dakota, Auto, Brushed aluminium shadowline,sports seats / wheel, hi fi speakers, mats, space saver wheel and a few more bits

I am new to rear wheel drive but managed to spin a 525d during a test drive in the wet (full throttle on a roundabout in 2nd gear - a bit wet, salesman terrified but I controlled I it OK). That was 4 months ago and I was driving in the wet today for the first time in my new 530 D with 271hp and 590Nm (ECU re-map).

I found it very easy to lose the back end when turning out of a bend and flooring it even when all the DTC DSC settings are on. Is it the RFT Bridgestones?, a problem with DSC / DTC?, or am I expecting too much bearing in mind the amount of torque I am putting down.

I quite enjoy it but get a bit embarresed if any cars or pedestrians see me

Or is it just something to do with rear wheel drive I am not used too
Old 07-31-2006, 12:26 PM
Members

My Ride: 14th Oct 05 delivery, 525d SE Silver Grey, Black Dakota, Dark Poplar, Adaptive Xenon, Prof Radio, Prof Nav, 6 CD Changer, BT, Advanced A/C, Electric Seats, Heated Front Seats, Thru Load/Ski Bag

Originally Posted by 07530d' post='317363' date='Jul 31 2006, 09:15 PM
I am new to rear wheel drive but managed to spin a 525d during a test drive in the wet (full throttle on a roundabout in 2nd gear - a bit wet, salesman terrified but I controlled I it OK). That was 4 months ago and I was driving in the wet today for the first time in my new 530 D with 271hp and 590Nm (ECU re-map).