E60 Discussion Anything and everything to do with the E60 5 Series. All are welcome!

So the 535i....

Search this Thread

Old 01-13-2016, 06:30 PM
New Members

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
My Ride: 2006 BMW 525ix (N52 Engine)
Default So the 535i....

Iv been doing some thinking. This July (so 6 months from now) its going to be 2 years of owning my 2006 525xi. Suprisingly there is a weird pattern with me and cars. The cars I enjoy seem to stay for 2 years and then a oppertunity surfaces and I get another car. I guess its just timing I guess haha

So Iv been thinking, Id like more power, I like the E60 chassis a lot. I like the comfort and the looks. So i gave it a thought to pay off the rest of my car payment in August. Which would mean I would be able to sell my E60 and get something else.

The situation I am in is that I am a college student, graduating in May. I finished all my classes last semester but now I am on a 8 month co-op (internship). Long story short, I make pretty good money now, and the place I am renting for the time being is cheap and good enough until the end of my internship. The town is also small and there isnt much to do so saving money is a breeze, also I dont have a garage or any space to work on a project even If i wanted to. So saving even more money.

With all that I hope to pay off my E60 and get another E60 but a 535i. I want more performance and mods. My 525xi is fun and all but its just missing the extra umph. My 2nd choice would be a E92 with the N54 motor. My 3rd choice is to just keep the car and possibly embark on a project by the near end of next year (hopefully ill have a place with a garage by then). 4th choice is to keep the 525 and just save up and deal with the 218 hp I have and and sell it after a few year and get a M4. (hopefully ill be making a little more by then)

So any suggestions? Ideas? Anyone go from one E60 to another? What should I watch out in the N54 motor?