E60 Discussion Anything and everything to do with the E60 5 Series. All are welcome!

SMG (E60) - It's OK but ... (long)

Search this Thread

Old 11-21-2004, 07:11 PM
Contributors

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

<span style='font-size:14pt;line-height:100%'>Why I chose SMG for my 545</span>

For SMG
- I'm convinced SMG is the future. It's manual and automatic merging into one, thanks to technological evolution.
- I like my hi-tech gadgets as much as the other guy. Hey, I also got HUD!
- If it works for F1, it should be good enough for me. Plus, the M3 SMG was well received. Not so much on the Z4, but that was 18 months earlier.
- I'm a computer pro with a bias. Clearly, a computer-controlled servo should do better shifting than most humans.
- The price is right for US model 545: zero, same as manual and auto.

Against manual boxes
- I do quite a bit of heavy traffic commuting, and I grow tired of pressing the clutch pedal every other second.
- After 33 years of driving, the novelty of that clutch pedal wore out. It's really not as good as sex.

Against automatic boxes
- I drove manual boxes most of my life. I can live with a slushbox when I borrow my wife's SUV to pick-up mulch. But for spirited driving, one needs to do one's own shifting, more so with 325 ponies.
- I find metaphysical gratification in performing fast but velvet-smooth shifts. If the passenger's head bobbles more than a hair, it's no good! Can't do that with a slushbox when you press the gas pedal down hard.
- The performance lag factor, why waste 4% of the power to heat up the transmission oil?

<span style='font-size:14pt;line-height:100%'>My actual experience with SMG</span>

Shifting speed
A major disappointment.
Over 2 seconds between gears in standard mode. Slow as molasses.
Between 1.0 and 1.4 seconds in sport mode, 3-times slower than I can do with a manual box.
It was supposed to get better with time as the system "learned" my style. It does not.