E60 Discussion Anything and everything to do with the E60 5 Series. All are welcome!

Newbie here - test drove a 2005 530 last weekend

Search this Thread

Old 06-24-2008, 09:28 AM
Members

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hey everyone. ...

very cool board. I have read a lot of interesting things about the e60. Some of the stories about things going wrong are bit discouraging though!

I'm on the verge on pulling the trigger on the right 530i. I test drove one this weekend at great, great, length. A buddy of mine since the 1st grade is the General Sales Manager at this Jaguar Dealership. It was a blast to say the least.

But, I have to admit I have some apprehension regarding issues with reliability and the maintenance a 530 might require. I have read that the 2005 is a pretty reliable year, but I have driven two Honda?s (Accord and S200) over the last 8 years and I'm not exaggerating when I say I have never been to the mechanic for a problem, not once. I've driven a little over 110K during that time. The most I've done is replace tires once and wind shield wipers.

So, if staying out of shop and not having things go wrong is close to the top of my priority list, should I be looking at another car besides the 530? I know alot depends on where the car is with the warranty, the quality of the dealer, the carfax etc.

Would Japanese lux car, i.e. infinity, Acura be a better match for me?

Any thougths about this or about buying your first bmw would be greatly appreciated!!
Old 06-24-2008, 09:42 AM
Contributors

Originally Posted by gortiz' post='609131' date='Jun 24 2008, 01:28 PM
Hey everyone. ...

very cool board. I have read a lot of interesting things about the e60. Some of the stories about things going wrong are bit discouraging though!