E60 Discussion Anything and everything to do with the E60 5 Series. All are welcome!
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Newbie here. 525xi with dreaded belt suck issue

Search this Thread

Old 01-29-2018, 06:26 PM
New Members

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
My Ride: 525xi
Model Year: 2006
Engine: n52
Default Newbie here. 525xi with dreaded belt suck issue

Yes, I knowingly bought the car with this issue. No, I didn't pay much. Not much at all.
I have not personally run any tests or opened up the engine yet to inspect the damage, but I thought I would give some others a chance to point me in the right direction. I've found a bunch of other threads too, but if you've had the issue and have useful insight I'd much appreciate you sharing!

The report from the (non BMW) mechanics I bought it from are that the engine does have compression and will turn over but won't start. Hopefully they didn't try to start it too many times(!!!)... politely asked them not to prove to me that it wouldn't start when I showed up.

****Also... if someone has the crank seal removal and install tool they would rent me, I'd be much obliged.

Last edited by acarpenter; 01-30-2018 at 02:34 PM.
Old 02-05-2018, 07:17 PM
New Members

Hi guys, so I removed the valve cover today and did find pieces of belt in under there. Oh joy. Looks like now I get to remove the oil pan. Has anyone done this on a 525xi? Just wondering how much of the suspension/non drive train parts need to be removed to remove the sub frame?