E60 Discussion Anything and everything to do with the E60 5 Series. All are welcome!

New member here looking for some help and guidance

Search this Thread

Old 07-08-2010, 06:57 AM
Members

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
My Ride: 2008 BMW 550i Sport
Model Year: 2008
Engine: N62

Hello! First of all, great forum! I've been checking out this forum for quite a few months now and have come across some great posts.

I'm finally thinking about pulling the trigger on a 2008 535i/550i. I'm torn between the two...low mileage (< 30k miles) 550i's seem to be retailing for $41k - $50k, while 535i's in the $34k - $40k range. I'm not sure what people are actually paying, but seems like dealers aren't willing to budge much on the 550i's, though I love the look and sound of it! As a result, I started looking more into the 535i's and found a nicely equipped one for $37k....would offering $34k be reasonable? The car is being sold at a non-BMW dealership, and has 28,600mi, black sapphire/black dakota, sport/prem, nav, ipod connection, comfort access, heated seats, and sport auto transmission. Are people getting good deals on such cars? Mannheim auction prices (wholesale) seem to indicate more like $32k for well equipped cars.

Additionally, as far as mods go, I'm in love with the MTech package on the 550i sport, so if I get a 535i, I would strongly consider getting such a kit put on. What's the consensus on the replica kits from Umnitza vs. Trinity Auto as far as quality and fitment? Do these kits come with all the hardware (grilles, screws, foglights) to mount the front/rear bumper and side skirts? If not, what exactly is needed for a fool-proof install? How much are people paying to get them painted and installed at a reputable body shop?