E60 Discussion Anything and everything to do with the E60 5 Series. All are welcome!
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Need Help ASAP

Search this Thread

Old 10-16-2018, 05:28 AM
New Members

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
My Ride: 2004 BMW E60 525i
Default Need Help ASAP

Hi all just wanted to say this is my first time posting so if not allowed please delete. I am a first time 2004 E60 525i owner of which I took deliver yesterday the car was purchased with a faulty battery which has been replaced today. I am noticing a 6amp power draw from the vehicle and am getting transmission, abs, airbag, cruise control errors on the I drive that where certainly not there when I purchased it when I was hunting for the cause of the problem I noticed that the driver side rear footwell is like a mini dam (very wet) i was hoping someone out there could help me as the vehicle will no longer start get all lights both turns and then no cranking with foot on the brake for last turn please help!!!
Old 10-16-2018, 06:08 AM
Administrator

Received 96 Likes on 92 Posts
My Ride: 530xi
Model Year: 2007
Engine: N52

We're sorry that your first post to the forum had to be a cry for help, but let's see what we can do to help you.

First of all, E60s are electronic marvels, so they rely heavily on the battery. Because of this, you can't just plunk in any battery...it has to fall within strict parameters and be coded to your car. This thread will give you a good sense of what is involved in replacing your battery.
https://5series.net/forums/diy-do-yo...attery-117656/

I can almost guarantee that the errors are being caused by a battery that doesn't meet specs. Follow the guidelines in the thread and you should be okay. If you don't feel comfortable doing this yourself, buy the proper battery at Autozone and bring it to someone who specializes in BMW repair. I'd avoid a dealer. You'll get soaked. Good luck!
Old 10-16-2018, 10:55 AM
New Members