E60 Discussion Anything and everything to do with the E60 5 Series. All are welcome!

iDrive settings Disappearing?

Search this Thread

Old 01-23-2009, 05:58 PM
Members

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I am a newbie here, still, but I have been trying to read a lot. As a first time owner, I feel pretty overwhelmed.
There is indeed a lot of information here that I would have never imagined about my E60.
I am so glad there is a forum like this one.

About the title question:

What I have gathered is that some settings like the clock, average MPG consumption, and others (that I may not be aware about) kind of reset or go blank without any info if we got a deficient battery, i.e. a battery that will die soon. -battery related problem-

But I also have learned that there may be software issues associated with this?

I read someone had problems with the active steering and that caused the data to be erased?

What happened to me:

Last night, I turned off the option to have the inside lights on after opening the doors. The manual says that I should hold the middle button on the top/roof console for about three seconds, and the lights would no longer turn on. I managed this just fine. But this morning, as I went out I saw that for the first time ever, my info disappeared after I turned on the car. No clock, no miles traveled, MPG consumption....

Coincidence? Or is this a known issue? Is there anything else that could cause this glitch?

I drive a 2006 530i.

Thanks in advance.
Old 01-25-2009, 11:06 AM
Members

I guess what happened to me was a bit unusual.
Old 01-26-2009, 11:28 AM
Senior Members

Originally Posted by Transporter' post='775949' date='Jan 24 2009, 03:58 AM
I am a newbie here, still, but I have been trying to read a lot. As a first time owner, I feel pretty overwhelmed.
There is indeed a lot of information here that I would have never imagined about my E60.
I am so glad there is a forum like this one.