E60 Discussion Anything and everything to do with the E60 5 Series. All are welcome!

FSU, Heater Blower Resistor, servotronic...etc...etc

Search this Thread

Old 11-12-2011, 03:27 PM
Members

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hello all! I am new to the BMW world.

I bought an '06 BMW 550i a few months ago and have fallen in love with it until relatively recently.

First the heater fan kept blowing after the car was turned off. My local dealership said not to worry about it unless it happened again... It happened again and killed my battery. I got a jump, removed the blower fuse(since I'd already decided this was a resistor issue) and thought it would be fine...wrong, dead battery the next morning. Today I hook my charger/jumper up and start the car again letting it charge by driving it around some. I notice that the steering is absolutely horrible, like stiff as when I would be going 100+mph. Looked through the errors and got a Servotronic error.

Where I am now: Ordered the FSU/heater blower resistor and have it scheduled to be put in sometime late this coming week.(I would put it in myself but broke some clips trying to disassemble the dash and now I'm too scared to.)

My question: Does my battery completely dying twice have anything to do with the Servotronic error?

Any help/advice would be greatly appreciated. I want to be in love again!
Old 11-14-2011, 01:40 PM
Members

Cool. Thanks for the responses you stuck-up faggots
Old 11-14-2011, 02:53 PM
Senior Members

My Ride: 2006 550i, 1984 Mercedes Gelandewagen

Originally Posted by clsutton21
I bought an '06 BMW 550i a few months ago...

The blower kept running after the ignition was turned off.
My local dealership said not to worry about it unless it happened again... It happened again and drained the cars battery.

Looked through the errors and got a Servotronic error.