E60 Discussion Anything and everything to do with the E60 5 Series. All are welcome!

Considering '07 530xi Sedan > Need advice ASAP

Search this Thread

Old 12-21-2007, 06:28 PM
Contributors

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I haven't had a 5'er since my 524TD ... boy do I wish I had that e28 now!

But now after two 7'ers I have an opportunity to buy a 2007 530xi sedan with 10K miles and a full load of options ... Sport, Premium, Nav, PDC, Comfort Access, Heads-up, and the list goes on.

The car has the BMW Maintenance pkg but isn't coming from a BMW store so there is no chance to get it "certified".

That said, after dealing with an e32 and e38 with their expensive maintenance and repairs I'm weighing the option of going to an 2008 Infiniti M35 AWD with similar options, comparable performance, but better reliability. (BUT it's not a BMW ?!?!?)

I've been a BMW owner and driver for more than 20 years and the thought of driving something else is keeping me awake at night. My 2001 e38 is real sweet to drive ... but just crossing over to 90K miles and it's inevitable that it's going to start costing me some reliability pain (cooling system replacement, suspension R&R, Tranny service, etc etc etc.)

Opinions are welcome ... PLEEEZZE!
Lou
1986 524TD
1994 740i
1998 Z3 2.8
2001 740i
Old 12-21-2007, 07:10 PM
Super Moderator

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
My Ride: G30 M550i
Model Year: 2018

First of all, welcome to the right place on the internet for everything and anything related to the E60! I can already tell you're a brilliant mind since you moved over hear from that roadfly place...

It sounds to me like you're the kind of person (as many of us are like) that won't be happy with the M35 after the first few weeks. You're right, it isn't a BMW...