E60 Discussion Anything and everything to do with the E60 5 Series. All are welcome!

Best Diagnoistic Software for Enthusiast?

Search this Thread

Old 02-13-2012, 07:59 PM
Members

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hi all. First post. I've Been checking out this forum for quite a few months while researching and learning what I could about the E60's . I wanted to be educated a bit before the purchase. I looked at several and drove a few over the last 7-8 months. Finally settled on a 06' 530i. What valuable resource for enthusuats this site is!
Here's my question. I have been contemplating purchasing some diagnostic software in order to able to check trouble codes, read data, and hopefully be able to perform any module replacement type procedures if needed in the future. I am fairly mechanically inclined as I am a Ford senior master technician by trade. I look forward to being able to service this vehicle when needed as I do with all the rest I have owned in the past.
Looking into software choices there seem to be a few out there, some reasonable priced, some limited in function, anand some that are very exspensive. Obviously I would think that the OEM software would provide the greatest range of functionality, but I am unsure that I would need all that it offers for my uses.
I was intrigued by the Bavarian Technic offering, especially the price for the enthusiast kit, but seems somehwat limited for the E60 platform. I would appreciate any other member's input on what is good, what sucks, what you like about a certain setup....or not. Thanks again guys, and let me add, I don't currently have any issues with the new to me ride. I am just thinking about the future becuase I plan on keeping this thing for awhile. Not haveing owned much in the past BUT Fords,this 530 is quite an amazing vehicle in comparisons. I look forwards to the challange of learning somthing new should issues arise, I just want to be prepared when that time comes.
Old 02-14-2012, 01:04 PM